progress!!!!!!

I almost hate to write this for fear of jinxing myself, but I have to admit that I am pretty happy in terms of my marathon training so far. In the past (as a result of laziness, poor planning, etc.), I have cut it extremely close. I got my miles in and was technically ready for race day, but I only had one really long run under my belt and crammed my training into 8-12 weeks. It was not an ideal situation, but I was able to complete three marathons doing this. The key word here is complete. I wasn’t really going for a specific time because I didn’t have the time/energy to train properly. I was more worried in being able to run the whole thing without stopping.

This season has been dramatically different, and I complete credit this to being chosen as a Cleveland Marathon official blogger. Having to chronicle my experience has made me much more accountable, and reading the others’ blogs inspired me to get moving sooner than later. My training started much earlier than it would have otherwise, and I am already about 4 weeks ahead of my original schedule! Providing I don’t get hurt (knock on wood), I will have about a month to focus on speed during my long runs. I have never had this opportunity before, and it is very exciting to me.

That brings me to my goal for Cleveland. I debated saying anything about times because if I don’t make my goal, I will feel like a loser (this is just the way I am; I hate failure), but it will help me push toward it. Here it goes – I would like to finish the marathon with a pace of 10:00 minutes per mile, which would put me around 4 hours and 22 minutes. This is ambitious considering my last marathon had a 10:34 pace (4 hours and 37 minutes), but I think it is very attainable. I am thinking with the extra time to get speedy (speedy in my terms, at least), I can do it. I will keep you posted as I continue through this journey, and best of luck with your training!

If you have an upcoming race or races, what are your goals? 

Leave a Reply

