st. malachi run recap

WP_001402

Bring on race season, because St. Malachi kicked off my 2013! I normally run the 5-miler, but I wanted to run this year’s 2-miler with my daughter, Alexandra. It was her first real race ever. My first thought when we set out on Saturday was Mother Nature got confused and thought it was the Chili Bowl. Holy snow, ice, rain, cold…yuck.

Alexandra and I got ready that morning in our festive attire. We aren’t Irish and don’t normally celebrate St. Patrick’s Day, but I don’t pass up an opportunity to wear a costume and run. I made us matching green tutus for the race and dug out my rainbow arm and leg warmers from an old Rainbow Brite costume. Leprechaun chic = FABULOUS!

WP_001390 WP_001393

Raymond, Alexandra, and I made our way to Cleveland and were very lucky to find a relatively close parking spot. I didn’t want Lex to wait in the cold, so we went inside the church to stay warm and wait for the start. When it was 10 minutes to race time, we made our way to the start line, found a spot, and waited. Lex was a little cold, despite the crazy amount of layers I dressed her in.

WP_001394

WP_001395

V__2F3A

9:00am and we were off! I know that we are slow and all, but I always seem to start too far back during this race. We had to walk for a little bit until the crowd thinned, and then we were cruising. Lex was doing a great job, and she loved the fact that we kept passing people (definite perk of starting near the back). She started getting a little toasty at the first mile, so I became the designated glove and ear muff holder.

WP_001401

run, lexi, run!

For this race, we had to go over a bridge at the start and then come back over it to finish. Lex had never trained on any sort of hill, but I have to say that she rocked it! She never walked, and I was so proud of her. I tried to act like her personal cheerleader throughout the race course, but I don’t think she needed it.

On the downhill, I told her that we were almost to the end, and she knew what to do. She kicked in the energy she had left and sprinted to the finish, with Raymond and me cheering for her. We finished the race in 25:16 (12:38 pace). According to my watch (which was a little different than the chip time), we did the first mile in 12:59, and the second in 12:14. I was pretty impressed because we had a long uphill portion for the second mile.

V__C0E3

in the home stretch

V__4FB1

crossing the finish

I hope everyone had a great Malachi experience, despite the weather. Bring on spring! I’m ready to run.

3 thoughts on “st. malachi run recap

  1. Pingback: happy blogiversary! | steph plus 4

Leave a Reply

