what moves you? part 2

You have heard me say this before, but running would be nearly impossible for me if I did not listen to music. It helps occupy my mind, especially on long runs, and gives me a motivational boost when I need it most. One of my earliest posts was titled “what moves you?” where I listed some of my absolute favorite songs to run to. You should check it out if you haven’t read it.

As much as I love my old standbys, I need a little something new for the Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon. Here are some songs that I’m loving right now and need to add to my mp3 player STAT!

“Kiss You” by One Direction. I’ll admit it – I love One Direction! I was so happy when the Easter Bunny brought Alexandra the new CD. Their music is catchy and reminds me of my New Kids on the Block days. Ahh, memories.

“I Love It” by Icona Pop. I heard this song a few weeks ago and can’t get it out of my head. The words are a little crazy, but I think it will be really fun to run to. Give it a listen.

“She Cranks My Tractor” by Dustin Lynch. Had to get a little country in this mix. I applaud him for the use of the work “rack” in this song, and it’s not in reference to deer antlers.

“Scream and Shout” by will.i.am featuring Britney Spears. I don’t really care for either of these artists, but I love this song. It comes on the radio, and the kiddles and I crank it up. I will be thinking of them when it comes on during a run.

“C’Mon” by Kesha. Oh, Kesha. You are one, big, hot mess, but I love it! Who cares if you can’t really sing and everything is autotuned? People, including me, are still listening. Keep ‘em coming!

Also, check out one of the other Cleveland Marathon official blogger’s sites, Go Run Jess, for an awesome opportunity to win a $20 iTunes gift card. Her contest runs through April 11, and you have the opportunity for an additional entry every day.

What are some of your favorite work-out songs? I would love some suggestions.

6 thoughts on “what moves you? part 2

  1. hahaha I LOVE Kesha! Even though she’s really not singing, it’s catchy. There is a parady video on youtube making fun of her “Sing Talk” its hilarious.
    My fav songs to run to are Ladies Choice from Hairspray, Low by FloRida, Pump It by black eye peas and I download a new album every now and then that makes for good running. Just recently downloaded Luke Bryan’s new album and The Band Perry’s new album (the song “Done” is perfect to run to)

  2. Thanks Steph! I have quite a few Kesha songs on my playlist-they’re just fun! My go to song for any race is “Wild One” by Sia and FloRida. It’s almost always my first song on a playlist.

  3. I love that song by Britney and Will.I.Am! I gotta add that before the Cleveland Marathon.

    Here are some of my favorite songs that are on my running playlist (I use Pandora on my phone for training runs and have a playlist specifically for races so that I don’t need to mess with my phone during a race):

    Mercy by Kanye West
    ****** in Paris by Kanye West and Jay-Z
    Push It by Rick Ross
    Starships by Nicki Minaj
    Power by Kanye West
    Notorious Thugs by Notorious B.I.G. and Bone Thugs ‘N Harmony
    Thug Luv by Bone Thugs ‘N Harmony
    No Church in the Wild by Kanye West and Jay-Z
    Get Up And Get It by Bone Thugs ‘N Harmony

Leave a Reply

