thank you, cleveland marathon

2013bloggerbadge_srv_1351712628

Now that I’ve crossed the finish line of the 37th annual Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon, my time as an official blogger has come to an end, and it makes me a little sad. This has truly been a great experience, and I am so thankful for the opportunity to share my stories with you.

This has been a five month project, and I have learned a lot of things over that time. I would like to share some with you.

1. This was SO much more than just blogging about training and running. This opportunity gave me a chance to inspire others, and for that I am very grateful. When I completed my official blogger application, I said that my hope was to encourage people, especially other moms, to run or become more physically active, and based on the feedback that I have received from family, friends, and even people I have never met but who have read my blog, I’ve succeeded. Thank you for that.

2. The running community is an amazing one. I already knew this, but being an official blogger solidified it. I had ┬áthe chance to meet other runners who I may not have met otherwise and made a ton of connections on Twitter and WordPress. Also, by reading the other bloggers’ posts and being able to meet some of them at the meet-up, VIP reception, and/or races, I feel as though I expanded my circle of people who support and encourage me. They cheered with me on my accomplishments and helped pick me up when I stumbled. I hope they feel that I did the same for them, also.

3. The Cleveland Marathon truly cares for its official bloggers. All you have to do is talk with Bethany, our main contact for this project, and she can tell you everyone’s name, their spouse’s/girlfriend’s/boyfriend’s/fiance’s name, and what is going on with their lives based on their blog entries. She reads all of them and, more than just that, she cares about all of us and what’s happening. The entire staff has also been wonderful by providing us bloggers with goodies along the way – complimentary race entry; a meet-up at Bar Louie in Cleveland; official blogger shirts; VIP reception invites; and VIP race day packet with parking pass, brunch tickets, and bleacher seating. I hope they know how much I appreciated all of this.

Thanks again, Cleveland Marathon! You are fabulous!

cleveland experience

6 thoughts on “thank you, cleveland marathon

Leave a Reply

