and so it begins…bring on marathon training

Cleveland Marathon Blogger Badge

If you haven’t heard yet (i.e. you have been living under a rock), I have the pleasure of again being an official blogger for the Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon and will chronicle my journey as I train for my fifth full marathon on May 18, 2014. This year’s race is different than past ones because I want this race more than I have any other. It’s not that I didn’t want to run before or didn’t train the way I needed. I felt last year I did everything right but still fell apart during the race. Not this year. I have passion and determination that weren’t there before. I am not walking away from Cleveland with anything less than a PR. Period.

I am proud to say as I begin marathon training, I am already halfway there. I have kept my body trained to run a half marathon since the first weekend in November, and the most amazing part to me is I have seen my times dropping. Before, it was a huge accomplishment to run a 5K with a pace under 9:00/mile. Now, I easily crush 10-13 miles with an 8:45 pace, and it’s easy for me to knock out a 3-miler with a 7:45 pace. I know the work that I am putting in now will only make me stronger, and I welcome the challenge of adding miles to my schedule and pushing beyond what is comfortable to make me a better runner.

If you even remotely considered running or walking a race in 2014, I urge you to register for any of the four Cleveland races before the price increase on January 15! With a 5K, 10K, half marathon, and marathon, there is something for every fitness level. Signing up and making the commitment may just be the thing you need to make 2014 your best year yet! I know it will be for me.

And if you are looking for a little extra to push you on your journey, continue to check out the Run. Train. Blog. page where fellow bloggers and I will share our stories from now through race day. You will experience our successes and failures as we train for our big race, and by doing so, we hope to motivate and inspire you.

overcome

 

 

3 thoughts on “and so it begins…bring on marathon training

  1. Love your determination! I know you’re going to destroy the full. I really wanted to do the full, but when I took a look at all that we have going on this spring (buying a house, moving, increased workload, etc) and considered the bad weather and lack of access to a treadmill for long runs, I figured there was no way I would be able to train properly. Kudos to you for fighting through the bad weather and doing what you need to do now to have success in May!

    • Thanks, Joe! I actually signed up for the half right after my disastrous full in May, but when I was asked to be a blogger again, I knew I had to give the full another shot. I think this will be my best race yet! And don’t give me too much credit. I hit the treadmill when the weather is cold. #freezebaby

Leave a Reply

