guest blog post – adrienne’s half marathon mission

One thing I love about the running community is how we all support and encourage one another. In the Twittersphere, I ran into Adrienne, a new blogger who just happened to win my Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon entry contest! We talked a bit about running and blogging, and I offered to have her write a guest post about her mission to run her first half marathon in the city we both love. Here’s her post. Make sure you give her blog a read :-) Also, way to go, Adrienne! Proud of the commitment you made to push yourself in terms of running. Can’t wait to hear about your training and the race itself! 

Hello, hello, lovely steph plus 4 readers! My name is Adrienne and I blog over at http://www.seeadriennerun.com/. I am very new to the blogging community and have only been blogging now for about 3 weeks. I reside in Cleveland and am a runner, training for my first half marathon – The Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon – which funny enough I won from Steph!

My journey with running has been a tumultuous one to say the least; we have a love hate relationship. I started running a little over two years ago. I hated running. I was always that girl in gym class who walked the mile and couldn’t even fathom the thought of running. The only physical activity I cared about was dance. I have been dancing since I was 3 years old, went off to college for dance and still teach dance to this day. That was my life, my first love. But I was starting to become bored with dance; I was at a standstill in my dance career. I felt like I had lost that spark; I couldn’t create anymore and felt completely lost.

That’s where running comes in to play. I needed something new to re-energize me, something to make me feel alive again. I wanted to do something big, something that I could look back and be proud of, an accomplishment. So one day I thought, I hate running, runners are nuts, running a marathon or even a 5k is crazy, but….I want to do it. So that is exactly what I did. I downloaded the Couch to 5k program and trained for 6 months for my first 5k. It took me forever to actually build up to running for even 2 minutes; it was a painful process. I had days where I thought I was crazy, why did I ever think this would be a good idea? And then days where it started to get easier, it was actually fun and I was enjoying running, and even (GASP!) looking forward to the run days.

Running took my mind off of everything that was killing me inside about giving up dance and possibly falling out of love with the art form. It was an outlet, a way for me to forget about everything for 30 to 45 minutes a day. I quickly gained tons of self-confidence and had something I could be proud of again; my family was super supportive and was constantly asking me how my training was going. I felt like ME again!

My first 5k was the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure in September of 2012, truly a life changing experience to run side by side with cancer survivors, their families, and those running in memory of their loved ones. After that race I was hooked! And now here I am 2 years later, crazy in love with running and training for my first half MARATHON in May!

Adrienne

Running has given me meaning again, every day is a new goal, a new journey. I am proud to be a runner and am thankful every day that I decided to do something I never thought was possible.

-Adrienne

3 thoughts on “guest blog post – adrienne’s half marathon mission

Leave a Reply

