adventures in christmas shopping

Standard

DO NOT SHARE THIS POST WITH MY KIDS FOR FEAR OF RUINING CHRISTMAS!

Not gonna lie. I’m kinda proud of myself right now. Why, you ask? I am completely done Christmas shopping for the kiddles!!!! HOLLA! For the past couple years, I’ve been cutting it close and finishing my shopping a few days before Christmas. The fact that I am done before Thanksgiving is monumentous!

I got an early start a few weeks ago when I had to get birthday gifts for my niece at Toys R Us. Wasn’t planning on shopping but scored some great deals. Managed to get a gift for each kid, plus birthday gifts for my niece and a Christmas present for her sister for only $100!

Raymond and I did a little more shopping this week at Five Below. I LOVE this store and already sung its praises in an earlier post (let us give thanks part 2). I was able to get two things for each kid, a little something for me, and a Toys for Tots present for less than 60 bucks.

That brings us to the major shopping trip today. Being a cash-strapped mom, I opted for layaway and decided on K Mart because they have clothes and toys, which are things the kiddles asked for. Raymond and I went there after work and were greeted by this sign that made us both laugh.

news flash, K Mart, November 21 is Wednesday…haha

Don’t worry, everything was fine after the sign mix-up. I had specific requests from the kiddles and was able to get most everything on their list. I was so excited to fill the cart! And Raymond was a great sport with the whole things. He has put up with me and my Christmas shopping for the past few years, and I love him for that.

“sweet Jesus, are we done yet?”

yay! i love Christmas shopping!

After this, we headed to layaway. Easy peasy lemon squeezey, as Adrianna would say. My items were boxed, I paid my 10% of the total, and I walked away with a sense of satisfaction that I got my kids some fantastic gifts.

Of course there were some last minute items that made it into the cart, and I just bought these and brought them home.

last minute items. i couldn’t resist.

Thanks, Raym, for putting up with me. I love shopping with you and wish you could be there to see the kiddles open the gifts instead of basking in the Hawaiian sun (okay, I know you don’t bask but you’ll be warm and toasty while we’re freezing). I’ll make sure we take a lot of pictures.

Soooooo, Merry Christmas, a little early.

a little post-shopping celebration with my love

What gifts are you most looking forward to giving or receiving? 

Leave a Reply

