let us give thanks (part 4)

Standard

Okay, readers, last thankful post, and this takes me though the end of the month (I finished a little early, but who’s keeping track?). I hope my sister, Sarah, is reading this! Here’s my final list of things that I am thankful for.

1. My children. Growing up I never wanted to be a mom. I loathed babysitting and pretty much avoided children at all cost. If you told me that I would have 4 children by the time I was 27, I would have laughed at you. Now I can’t imagine my life without them. Each child brings a little something special to our family, and although they have a tendency to make me crazy, I can definitely say that my time as their mother has been the most rewarding experience of my life.

best. kids. ever.

2. My family, both immediate and extended. I am blessed with two wonderful parents who, after 30+ years together, still love each other and are happily married and great siblings (two sisters and one brother). We have our usual family drama, but I hope they know I love them all very much and am so thankful for them. They all do so much for the kids and me, without every asking anything in return. Thank you, fam!

mom and dad

susannah, sarah, steven, stephanie

I am also very lucky to have a large extended family. Here’s a look at just one side of the fam at my grandparents’ 60th wedding anniversary, and that’s not even everyone!

4 generations of the lesco family

3. My boyfriend. I don’t know what made this wonderful man want to be with me, but I am so glad he does! I have never been happier than I have been the past 3+ years, and it is because of Raymond. Simply said, he is the love of my life, and I look forward to many more years together.

love ❤

4. Anti-aging products. There is only one problem with dating Raymond, and that is he still looks young enough to be in undergrad. Sadly, I am past my prime, so I am finding a newfound appreciation for anti-aging products. I don’t want people thinking I’m a cougar when he’s actually older than me (by a few months). Here’s the latest addition to my arsenal.

nightly beautification treatment

5. My friend Lynne. I have been friends with Lynne since we went to Take Your Daughter To Work Day in 6th grade (spring of 1993). Flash forward quite a few years, and she is still someone I can count to be there for my best and worst moments. Although she lives in Baltimore and I don’t get to see her as much as I would like, whenever we get together it’s like we were never apart. Love ya, Lynney Lou!

aww, look how young we were (and how sunburned I was)!

Lynne’s wedding (I enjoyed it a little too much)

6. Lip Smackers Dr. Pepper chapstick. I used to love lipstick when I was younger (pre-kids), but I after I had them, lipstick went by the wayside, partly because no baby looks cute with lipstick kisses all over. This chapstick is great because it give a tint like a gloss or lipstick would, tastes good, and is safe for smooching kiddles.

7. Cheerleading. I couldn’t complete a thankful list without adding cheerleading to it. I started cheering when I was in 2nd or 3rd grade (can’t remember that far back), cheered through middle school and high school, cheered competitively my junior and senior years of high school, cheered in college all 4 years, and coached a competitive squad until 2006. THAT IS A LOT OF CHEERLEADING! To me, this was much more than wearing a short skirt and shaking poms. It was MY sport, and I was pretty good at it. Cheerleading helped turn me from a shy girl into one with confidence that could entertain a crowd.

go polar bears!

8. Gone With The Wind. There was never a better movie or book. The first time I saw this movie was with my mom when I was in 5th grade, and I was hooked. I wanted to be Scarlett O’Hara because, basically, she was awesome. I read the book shortly after and did a book report on it. I think the teacher was probably surprised that a kid was reporting on a 1,000+ page book 🙂  I am going to share the movie experience with my daughters one day in the hopes that they love it as much as I do.

swoon

9. Wordament. This is a new thing that I have found myself obsessed with. I have never been one to play any sort of video or online game, but I can’t get enough of this. Wordament has been an big occupier of my time now that Raymond is in school. I like to think that it is making me smarter…yeah, that’s my justification.

So that’s that – thirty thankful things in thirty days (try saying that three times fast) 🙂

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

