give a pint, save a life

Standard

Not that kind of pint! I’m talking about a pint of blood. Blood donation is a quick and easy way to give back to your community and help save others. Did you know that your one donation could save 3-4 lives? Amazing, huh?

I donated today; did you? This is something that I like to do but don’t do nearly as much as I should. The last time I donated was May 2012, and I wanted to make sure I got it in before the end of the year. LifeShare was set up at the gym, so I headed over to make a donation.

When I got there, I was a little disheartened to hear that I was only the fourth or fifth person to come in since 3:00 pm. It was nearly 7:00 pm. The only plus was being able to fill out the paperwork and get through the screening with lightening speed.

After a quick iron check, I was cleared for donation. They checked my veins and decided on the left arm. A quick poke later, the blood was flowing. And let me tell you, this was one of the best needle poking endeavors that I have encountered since I started donating. Thank you for making this as painless as possible (and for not digging around in my arm to get the vein…much appreciated :-))

WP_000527

if you’re squeamish, don’t look.

WP_000529

Well, it was flowing for a little while at least. With me, it is hit or miss as to whether or not I will be a good bleeder. Unfortunately, today was not one of those days. The poor phlebotomist had to hold the needle, and I took almost the entire twenty minutes to fill the bag. The bright side – I was able to give a full donation, which made me very happy.

Also, while I was bleeding, I also learned that LifeShare has a yearly Loyal For Life program that recognizes dedicated donors and provides them with a little thank-you for repeat donations. If you needed more of a push to donate regularly, this is it.

WP_000531

full bag of blood = happy girl

WP_000533

and…i’m done

I grabbed my snacks and water, and thanked the ladies on the bus for a great job. And they really were great – very helpful, professional, and friendly. Great job, LifeShare ladies! I know the blood drive didn’t yield as many donors as it could have, but I know those few donations can help make a difference. Keep up the great work, and I’ll see you again in 2013.

WP_000535

donation goodies

For more info on donation guidelines for whole blood, platelets or plasma, or double red cell donations, visit http://www.lifeshare.cc/content.aspx?ID=14.

Do you donate? Why or why not? 

4 responses »

  1. I agree, giving blood is a great way to give back! I’m O- and they always use my blood in pediatric applications. I give every 2 months like clockwork.

    Good for you Steph!

  2. Steph – Congrats on being chosen as a blogger! I’ll be running the 5k that day. 🙂 your blogs are addicting to read. I’m giving blood AS I WRITE THIS!!! 🙂 Good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

