we all have to start somewhere

Standard

I have to admit that I haven’t been running as much as I should have following the Columbus Marathon. I always have grand plans of maintaining the ability to run at least a half, but those plans go out the window after the recovery phase. I haven’t been a total exercise slacker, though. I have been using this time to get back to lifting. A stronger runner is a better runner, right? Following the weights, I usually hop on the treadmill for 2-3 miles, but we all know the treadmill isn’t the same as outside.

Last night, I had my first real outdoor cold run in an extremely long time, probably since early spring. If you don’t know it already, I’m a freeze baby, so the thought of cold is enough to keep me indoors on the treadmill. But the posts from other runners (thanks, everyone!) and the fact that it was sunny motivated me to go outside, and I’m glad I did.

WP_000568

it may as well have said zero degrees. to me, this is very cold.

I will say, it wasn’t fast, and it wasn’t pretty. My body wasn’t used to cold or outdoor terrain and I was tired by mile 1, but I kept running. My goal was a 5K, and I did just that. I was getting a little nervous when the sun started going down. I hate running in the dark. I just don’t feel safe, even in my little neighborhood, so I was very happy when I reached my street and finished the last bit close to home.

WP_000572

The watch said 3.1, so I stopped and tried to catch my breath. How could I run 26.2 just weeks ago, and now I’m struggling with 3!? And for goodness sake, I have gotten a lot slower. Instead of worrying and beating myself up about it, I’m just going to say that we all have to start somewhere. So begins my journey to yet another 26.2. Watch out, Cleveland! Here I come!

WP_000570

Note: The run outdoors reminded me of a few things. Number 1 – I ALWAYS overdress and end up roasting. I need to get comfortable with being chilly in the beginning instead of being so hot after the first half mile that you can practically see the steam rising from my body. Number 2 – people who have an empty or partially empty driveway but still feel the need to park their car so it blocks the sidewalk annoy me like no other! This goes double for the police officer on my normal run route. Your cruiser looks great blocking the sidewalk! Maybe he or she should reread the parking ordinance. I’m pretty sure sidewalk is listed as one of the prohibited places.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

