insanity – day 1

Standard

I said this was going to be the week that I started something new, and I kept my word. Last night I did the fit test for Insanity, and holy crap, am I out of shape!!! For those who have never heard of Insanity, it is all about max interval training, where you have long bursts of maximum intensity exercises with short rest period. There are 10 different workouts, and, if you follow the program, you can get great results in 60 days. I knew it wasn’t going to be pretty, and I was right. On a positive note, I didn’t puke, which I heard happens to some people when they start the program.

I waited until the kids went to bed to start this because it is the only time I have more than a minute to myself. I know you are probably saying just get up early and do it in the morning, but you don’t know me very well. I am not a morning person and prefer to grab a few extra minutes to sleep before getting all 5 of us ready in the morning, so I popped in the DVD and got started.

The first few exercises (switch kicks, power jacks, and power knees) weren’t that bad, but when I got to power jumps, I thought I was going to die (or knock over my Christmas tree). Globe jumps and suicide jumps were next, followed by push-up jacks, and I was struggling big time. I was trying to catch my breath and dripping sweat. I was feeling a little discouraged when I recorded my numbers but then thought, I shouldn’t be good at this! It’s only day 1!

Here’s my baseline (don’t judge). It can only go up from here, right?

Insanity Fit Test

One response »

Leave a Reply

