kindergarten christmas crafts

Standard

Today I spent time in Adrianna’s class as a parent helper. Her teacher put a call out to parents and grandparents to help around the holidays, and I happily accepted. I haven’t been in to her classroom yet this year (which was making me feel a little guilty), so I was ready to help.

WP_000644

I arrived at 10:15am, signed in at the main office, and made my way to her room. The look on her face was priceless when she saw me. She knew I was coming, but it was complete excitement in her eyes when I walked in. I love that look. Three other helpers were there – a stepmom and two grandparents. They had taken their spots at the other craft tables to make puzzle piece wreathes and trapezoid Christmas trees, so the teacher had me help at the ornament station.

The students were broken up into groups and sent to the different stations. They would then rotate around the room, so they could make everything. Adriana and five other kids started at my table. The task was to wrap a plastic bulb in foil, have the kids glue fancy little Christmas sparkles on, and then glitter the ornament. Sounds simple enough. It wasn’t. One little boy broke his ornament while covering it in foil, so we had to find a replacement. Some kids weren’t happy because their sparkles weren’t sticking. Other just wanted to play in the glitter. Glue was a hot commodity since there were two bottles at the station. It was quite comical. I made it through the first group okay, although I think I did them a disservice. The kids who came to the table later had better ornaments once I got my act together.

12_20_2012 3_47_12 PM (3)

WP_000643

The time flew by, and before I knew it, it was time for the kids to go to lunch. My craftastic morning was over. I gave Annie a hug and kiss and walked with them down to the cafeteria. As I was walking down the hall, she yelled to me, “Bye, Mommy, and thank you. I love you!” And that was all I needed to hear.

On another note, I give her teacher SOOOOOOO much credit. I could never teach, let along be a preschool or kindergarten teacher. I don’t have the patience, creativity, drive, or energy to do that for a living. For the short time I was there, she didn’t only instruct and help with the crafts. She played nurse for the kids who were complaining of stomachaches. She was a referee when a couple kids got their panties in a bunch lining up for lunch. She was an etiquette coach, teaching the kids to use their proper manners and words instead of actions. To me, it was all very exhausting and wonderful.

WP_000651

And lastly, thanks to the little boy who thought I was cute. I kept hearing whistling, like the sound a guy would make when a hot girl walks by, but couldn’t figure out where it was coming from. Then this little boy comes to my craft station and asked me if I heard him whistling at me. It was very funny but makes me wonder where he learned to do that!

WP_000650

One response »

  1. Kudos to you! I know how patience intensive kindergarten crafting can be! Glad you were able to visit. I tended to wear out my welcome at times at least in you and your siblings eyes but wouldn’t have traded those times with all of you for anything. Could be why I ended up working in the schools! Lol!

Leave a Reply

