make way for 2013

Standard

You are more than likely going to read oodles of blog posts, tweets, and Facebook updates about resolutions and goals for 2013, so here’s another to add to that list.

There are a few things that I want to accomplish in the new year. Some are fitness related, some are family related, some are personal, but all of them are important to me.

  1. Become a better mother. I have to admit, sometimes I just suck at this. BK (before kids), I always heard people commenting that children make you a more patient person. They lied. I used to have tolerance and patience, but since becoming a mother, they went out the window, and unfortunately, my children get the raw end of the deal. I can be downright snappy and mean, and I know that it hurts their feelings. This is unacceptable. I know my children are wonderful, but I need to remember that ALL the time. I need to appreciate every moment with them and realize that they are not going to be perfect angels, but they are mine, and I love them.
  2. Keep up with my physical activity. This shouldn’t be too hard to do because I have a few big races lined up for the year (Cleveland Marathon and Columbus Marathon), but I get to points where I don’t want to run or exercise. I am sure we all feel like this at one time or another. My lull is usually in the summer, so I plan on pushing through. I also want to make sure I do more than just running. The Insanity DVDs are great for this, and I like knowing that I can pop one of them on and have a kick-butt workout.
  3. Make healthy eating a priority. I LOVE my junk food and goodies – always have and always will. I am not saying I am going to eliminate these completely, but I definitely need to cut back. Replacing treats like chocolate, cookies, ice cream, etc. with a healthier option that still tastes great and satisfies my sweet tooth will make me feel better. My family also has a history of high blood pressure and cancer, so I know the changes that I make now can potentially help me live a longer, healthier, and better life.
  4. Find a better replacement for emotional eating.  I am also an emotional eater, so when the going gets tough, I reach for the pack of Oreos. The pleasure it brings me for the few minutes I am devouring the entire row isn’t worth how bad I feel after. Finding a more constructive way to deal with stress is high on my priority list. This will also help with number 1 above.
  5. Run a marathon in under 4 hours and 30 minutes. This is definitely doable. In October 2012, I completed the Columbus Marathon in 4:38, and I was thrilled! This was about 40 minutes faster than my previous two marathons. YAY, ME! I know if I work a little harder, I can shave those extra 8 minutes off, and if I don’t accomplish this in Cleveland in May, there’s always Columbus in October.
  6. Get my finances in check. I am not always the best at this. I make enough money to get by, but there is no extra. My goal is to use my tax return to pay some things off, and then quit putting stuff on my stupid credit cards! I need to discipline myself to think about whether or not I REALLY need to charge something. Now, a car repair – yes, that is a justifiable charge, especially if it’s really expensive and I don’t have the cash. New clothes – as much as I would like to justify this, it’s just not a necessity. I also plan on cutting down on the money I spend going out to lunch. I just get too lazy to pack, especially during the times the kids are with their dad and I don’t have to pack for them. I could be saving a lot of money, and being healthier, if I just discipline myself to pack and then have lunch out as a treat.
  7. Learn to like myself. I am extremely hard on myself, and sometimes I base my self-worth on what others think about me. It’s kind of sad to say that I am almost 32 years old and still care more about other people’s opinions. I think 2013 should be the year that I quit caring about what other people think and start caring more about myself because I can be pretty darn awesome. I raise four beautiful kids, I work full-time, I support myself completely (no child support, alimony, or other assistance here), I run marathons, I have my health, I have an amazing family and a boyfriend who loves me just the way I am. What’s not to like?! I need to say this little mantra to myself every day. I just might start believing it 🙂

So, there they are – my New Year’s resolutions! They are not impossible to attain; in fact, I think they are pretty easy. I didn’t want these huge pie-in-the-sky goals where if I failed, I would feel miserable about myself. I don’t think that’s the idea behind resolutions. They should be small enough that you can gain victories to build yourself up, but just hard enough that it takes effort and changes life for the better. Lifestyle change is what I’m about, and if I keep these in mind, I know 2013 is going to be a great year.

Happy New Year, everyone! What are some of your goals for 2013? 

5 responses »

  1. Good Stuff Steph….. I would love to have you run with us… Your pace is mine.. I am shooting for 4:15 in Cleveland and 4:05 or better Cbus… So lets get some long runs in!!! Youll do awesome… mmmm Bacon

  2. Love your list Stephanie! I am also super hard on myself and this year I’m going to ease up, especially at work. Your sub 4:30 goal is also impressive. I’m hoping to just make it to the finish line this time! 🙂 Happy New Year to you.

  3. Pingback: finding happiness being me | steph plus 4

Leave a Reply

