84 days and counting

Standard

What’s the countdown for? Nope, not a wedding or a baby or a vacation. It’s the 2013 Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon!

Untitled

I am very excited for this race for many reasons.

1. I am an Official Blogger for the marathon, so I get to share my training experiences, as well as a race-day recap, with all of you. This has been a great journey so far, and I have enjoyed this opportunity very much. I have to admit that I am going to be bummed when the race is over, but don’t fear. I am still going to write about running 🙂

2. This will be my 4th marathon! I ran Cleveland and Columbus last year and Honolulu in 2011. Honolulu was my first marathon, so I didn’t have high expectations (or much time to train) and just wanted to finish. I set a goal for myself in Cleveland and fell flat on my face in terms of reaching it. Columbus – I feel I rocked that race, and it gave me some much-needed confidence after the Cleveland debacle. I figure I am more of a seasoned marathon runner now and have a better handle on how to train, eat, and hydrate to optimize my running experience. Definitely hoping for a new PR in May!

3. They took out the ridiculous hill in the first half of the course! I don’t know about you, but that hill KILLED me last year. I know a course route can’t be completely flat, but was that necessary?! By the time I got to that point, almost all of the people around me walked up it. No one wanted to waste precious energy that early on. Telling you I am excited that it is out of this year’s course could be the understatement of the year. For maps of the this year’s courses, visit http://www.clevelandmarathon.com/Course_Maps/.

I could go on and on, but that’s not really the point I am trying to make here. Soooooo…I will get to my point. Why are you not signed up for this race yet? Sure, you might not be able to train for a marathon in 84 days, but depending on your level of physical activity and running experience, you could easily train for a half marathon (13.1), 10K (6.2 miles), or 5K (3.1 miles). The Cleveland Marathon has a little something for everyone. Kids can get in on the action too with the Red Nose Run. And no, you don’t even have to run the race. There are plenty of people who walk, even the entire 26.2 miles! It can also be a family affair. Grab some family members and/or friends and sign up as a group. With that, you already have a built-in support system for training and race day. You can encourage one another throughout the process and hold one another accountable to training, which always helps.

There are a few more days to register before another price increase on February 28. If you were on the fence about this race, jump over and register now before you have to spend any more money. Here’s the link: http://www.clevelandmarathon.com/Registration/. And if you see me on race day, make sure you say “hi”. A little encouragement or cheering would be nice too 🙂

One response »

Leave a Reply

