thanks, cleveland marathon!

Standard

free parking

I am sure you have already heard the great news, but if you haven’t, I am happy to say that parking for the Cleveland Marathon Expo at the I-X Center is free this year! Last year, there were quite a few runners, including me, who were upset about having to pay $8 to park and pick up race packets. I know it is only 8 bucks, but I would have rather spent that on marathon goodies than a parking spot. Thankfully, the Cleveland Marathon listened to its participants and worked out a deal with the I-X Center to allow free parking. The 2014 Expo will also be held at the I-X Center and offer free parking.

The Expo will be held on Friday, May 17 from 11:00am to 7:00pm and on Saturday, May 18 from 10:00am to 6:00pm. All runners must pick up their race bib and participant’s shirt at the Expo, as there are no race day pick-ups. If you absolutely can’t make it, someone can pick up your packet as long as they have a copy of your license and your bib number. The Expo is also a great chance to shop for some Cleveland Marathon gear, as well as other discounted running gear and products. I am definitely looking forward to seeing what they offer this year. My one word of advice – If you would like to shop, it is better to go earlier than later. I went on Saturday afternoon last year, and there weren’t too many things available in my size. My game plan is to go Friday.

If you are an out-of-town guest running the race, don’t worry; there is a transportation option for you. The Hyatt Regency Cleveland, the marathon’s host hotel, is offering a free shuttle service to and from the Expo. Here’s the shuttle schedule.

Friday, May 17     1:45pm – 7:00pm
Pick-Up/Drop-Off: Every half hour in front of the Hyatt

Saturday, May 18     9:45am – 6:00pm
Pick-Up/Drop-Off: Every 15 minutes in front of the Hyatt

And remember, if you are still considering participating in one of the Cleveland Marathon races, just make up your mind already and sign up! I even made it easy for you because here’s the registration link: http://www.clevelandmarathon.com/Registration/. See you at the race!

One response »

Leave a Reply

