birthday celebration!

Standard

I just had the pleasure of having a weekend-long birthday, and it was awesome! For those who don’t know, I just turned the big 3-2 today. Here’s a little recap of my great weekend.

Yesterday started the festivities. I planned to do my last long run (22 miles) for Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon training, but unfortunately things didn’t go as planned. I started out, and things just didn’t feel quite right. I was only about 2 miles in, and my legs felt like lead. I kept going, thinking that this feeling would just shake off, but it didn’t. Then I started to feel like I was going to pass out, and that’s when I called it quits and walked back to the car. I was pretty upset about the run but tried not to let it get me down. I completed two 20-milers this training season, but I just don’t like to leave the last 6.2 to luck. I guess the training that I put in will just have to do. Now, on to birthday stuff!

I drove back to my house from Westlake and noticed my grass looked horrible, but it looked even worse considering my neighbor cut hers. I decided to give it a quick trim. I actually don’t mind cutting grass. It’s good exercise, and it gave me a great excuse to enjoy some of the sunshine. After cutting grass, I packed up and went to Raymond’s house but not before checking my mailbox. I received this card from my BFF Lynney Lou. Awesome, right?!

fabulous I knew that we were going to celebrate my birthday on Saturday, but I didn’t know where we were going. I wanted it to be a surprise (even though I am horrible with surprises). Raym and I got ready and started driving. He was convinced I would know where we were going as soon as we started on the trip, but I really had no clue. I finally realized when we were about a quarter mile away – Dave & Buster’s! And to make it even better, he and my sister Sarah planned it so a bunch of our family and friends could be there to celebrate with me! Thanks, Raym, Mom, Dad, Sarah, Rhett, Sophia, Spencer, Nicole, Mark, Cody, Camille, and Tom!

V__E675

V__9F7E

even my niece sophia got in on the birthday action

WP_001603

badasses

2c989395-915a-4baf-9bc1-d2a80decc405 WP_001595 WP_001601

This brings us to my actual birthday, which is today! I felt like it was jam packed. Raymond and I went to see Iron Man 3. Holy crap, that was a fantastic movie! I picked up the kiddles, and all six of us went to dinner at Cracker Barrel. I seriously love this place. The food is good, it’s close by my house, they have stuff the kids will eat, and we don’t spend a fortune. Cole was the winner of the “best manners award.” I like to think he behaved because it was my birthday, but to be honest, it was probably a fluke.

V__1A65

kids devouring my freebie birthday dessert. i got three bites.

V__29F3

…and we’re still not done celebrating because what would a birthday be without a little Mitchell’s?!

WP_001608

Happy 32nd birthday to me!

7 responses »

  1. Happy birthday! Looks like you had a great birthday celebration. Dave and Busters is always a great time.

    Regarding your training run, Hal Higdon put up a great quote on Facebook the other day that said something like, “Don’t worry if you have a bad run here or there. Focus on the entirety of your training, not just on one isolated run.” Looks like you already have done that but I thought I’d throw it out there anyway for anyone who reads this because it really helped me gain perspective on a few bad runs I’ve had throughout my half process. You’re right–you’ve gotten in a lot of great runs and all of that training has you ready to go on May 19th!

    I don’t like leaving miles left to chance either (I don’t know why most training plans don’t take folks a bit closer to their goal distance!) but I don’t have time to work up to 13.1 before May 19 so I’m going to get up to 11 and trust that God and my training will carry me through the last 2.1!

    • That was a perfect quote to share! Thanks, Joe! Hal Higdon is so wise 🙂 I am hoping I was just tired and that’s why I couldn’t get the run in. it was a crazy busy week for me.

      I think you will kick butt on race day. All of us have worked hard, and it will be fun to see it pay off.

Leave a Reply

