so begins marathon weekend

Standard

Yesterday kicked off my Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon weekend, and what better way to do that than by taking a half day off of work to enjoy the Expo and attending the VIP reception!

Raymond and I worked until noon and then grabbed lunch at Chipotle. You have heard me say before that Chipotle is my favorite pre-race/long run meal, and I always eat it two days before. After that, we started driving to the Expo but had to make an impromptu stop at CLE Clothing Co. I was checking Facebook and saw that they posted something about new marathon and half marathon shirts. I NEEDED one of these! I also picked up a new sticker to go on the back of my van (it makes it look cooler, right?).

marathon gear

new marathon gear!

After Cleveland Clothing Co., we headed to the Health and Fitness Expo at the I-X Center. Last year we went on Saturday, and it was packed. The official merchandise was also picked over, so this year, we wanted to get there early. This was a good move because we were able to park in the first row!

WP_001644

If only we were as lucky with marathon merchandise. The shirts I wanted were already sold out except a handful of XL and XXL. This was the only disappointing thing about the Expo, though; everything else was great. We did a little shopping, enjoyed walking around, and got our picture taken at the Volkswagen tent.

runners unite

why we run

WP_001645

close-up of my sign on the board

V__8C6B  The fun didn’t stop there. We were also invited to attend the Cleveland Marathon VIP reception at the Hyatt Regency Cleveland. We were treated to delicious food and drinks and had a chance to see many of the other bloggers again, as well as important people such as the race director. Thank you, Cleveland Marathon, for the invitation! It was a great evening.

V__1D9D

cleveland marathon official bloggers (we’re still missing a few)

V__7375Now, let’s run CLE!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

