running for a cause – columbus half marathon

Standard

Children's Champion

I’ve run 4 marathons, 1 half marathon, and dozens of other races, but one thing that I’ve never done is run for a cause with the intention of fundraising. That will change this fall because I registered as a Children’s Champion for the Columbus Half Marathon on October 20, 2013.

I am so extremely fortunate to have four beautiful and healthy children, and I am thankful for this every day. There are many people who are not able to say that, and for this reason, I am fundraising. When I ran the Columbus Marathon, the thing that was most memorable was the children. Last year was the inaugural year of the Nationwide Children’s Hospital’s marathon sponsorship. At each mile of the race, there was a miracle mile patient, a child who battled health adversity and beat the odds. The children were out cheering for us as we ran past, and each one had a special mile decorated in a theme of his/her choice. I think the outpouring of support helped me finish the race. It was a humbling and moving experience and one that I won’t forget.

This year, I am not running the full marathon. Late summer and fall are going to be very busy for me personally and professionally, so I signed up for the half marathon. I admit I was a little bummed about this because the Columbus full has been my favorite race to date. I was also upset about missing out on those last 13 miracle mile patients, so I made a decision that will impact the Nationwide Children’s Hospital – I registered as a Children’s Champion and will raise funds to help all of patients.

Please consider making a donation to the Nationwide Children’s Hospital by visiting my fundraising page: http://nationwidechildrens.kintera.org/stephcharles55. Any denomination would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance 🙂

I also encourage you to meet this year’s Marathon Miracle Mile Patients. These children have amazing stories of courage, hope, and love, and I can’t wait to see some of them on the race course!

Leave a Reply

