sweet news to share – i’m a hot chocolate 15/5k blogger ambassador!

Standard

Hot Chocolate 15 & 5K

What do you get when you add chocolate, running, and blogging? Only one of the sweetest experiences ever! I am very pleased to announce that I was chosen to be one of the blogger ambassadors for the Hot Chocolate 15/5K in Columbus! The event, coordinated by RAM Racing, features a 15K and 5K race, the best goodie bag (hello, ¼ zip hoodies!), and a chocolate feast at the end. The event is great for people of all ages and activity levels, and you seriously can’t go wrong with chocolate as a post-race food. They don’t call it “America’s Sweetest Race” for nothing!

Last year, I registered for the race at the Columbus Marathon packet pick-up. I asked my mom if I bought her entry, would she walk the 5K race with me.  I think the chocolate at the end sealed the deal for her, and she agreed to her first race. We had the best time, and you can read about our adventures in my old post.

For 2013 I knew that I wanted to try the 15K. I would be fresh off of training from the Columbus Half Marathon, so the distance wouldn’t be an issue. And last year was so much fun that I had to do it again! When I was registering, I noticed that they were accepting applications to be part of a blogger ambassador program. That had me written all over it! Love blogging – check. Love chocolate – check. Love running – check. Love connecting and motivating other to be more physically active – check. Did I mention love chocolate? So I sent an email and hoped for the best.

Yesterday, my entire week was made when I received an email from Shannyn (@frugalbeautiful) saying that they would like to have me on board as a blogger for their Columbus race. I have to admit that I did a happy dance at my desk when I saw it on my phone. I happily accepted, so here I am, a Hot Chocolate Blogger Ambassador!

Thank you, RAM Racing, for this opportunity. Can’t wait to share more information about this great race with my readers. And a HUGE thank you for supporting a charity that helps children, who are very near and dear to my heart. The official charity of the Columbus Hot Chocolate 15/5K is Ronald McDonald House Charities Central Ohio. You can find more information on their charity page.

And readers, as a thank-you for being so wonderful, I have a code that will get you a free travel mug when you register for the Hot Chocolate 15K or 5K. Make sure you enter STEPHPLUSMUG to get your freebie, and do it before the price increase on September 29! Don’t live in Columbus? No worries! Hot Chocolate runs are held in various cities across the U.S. Go to their site and check it out.

6 responses »

  1. Too bad i just missed your travel mug giveaway – I just registered yesterday… But looking forward to the 15k. I’ll be fresh off my first half marathon – the Hershey Half Marathon in Oct.!

  2. Pingback: happy blogiversary! | steph plus 4

Leave a Reply

