together we can make a difference

Standard

Children's Champion

How many of you are fortunate enough to have healthy children or are part of a family that didn’t have to worry about childhood illnesses? I am thankful every day for my four beautiful and healthy children, and I think often of those who wake up every morning not knowing what the day will bring for their child who is fighting to make it through one more day. If is for these children that I am running the Columbus Half Marathon on Sunday, October 20. They provide me with more motivation than they will ever know.

I signed on to be a Children’s Champion for Nationwide Children’s Hospital, the title sponsor of the Columbus Marathon, because I wanted to help make a difference and go above and beyond just running. Running with purpose is so much more fulfilling. I want to raise funds so that the hospital can continue their life-saving work and assist families who are unable to pay for the services their children desperately need. This is one way I can help give back, and I am hoping you will join me.

My goal is to raise $500 for Nationwide Children’s Hospital before I run my half marathon on October 20, and I can’t do this without your help. I have currently raised $140, falling very short of my goal. Please consider making a donation in any denomination of your choice on my fundraising website, http://nationwidechildrens.kintera.org/stephcharles55. Also, please share this information with your friends and family, on Facebook, and on Twitter in the hope that others will support Nationwide Children’s Hospital.

Lastly, I want to thank the people who have graciously donated to my race. I want you to know how much I appreciate your support, and I plan to run the hardest mile of the race, mile 13, in your honor. THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

