we did it!

Standard

Children's Champion

I want to begin by saying I am truly humbled by the generosity I have witnessed in my efforts to raise funds for the Nationwide Children’s Hospital as a Columbus Marathon Children’s Champion. My goal was to raise $500, and because of you, I was able to reach that goal! I am so thankful to have family and friends who are not only supportive of my running but also care enough to make a difference in the lives of children. THANK YOU! Because of you, a guest (Raymond) and I will be able to access the Children’s Champion Start Area where we will have a chance to meet many of the Patient Champions who will line the race course and hear a welcome from the CEO of Nationwide Children’s Hospital. I can’t begin to tell you how excited I am to meet some of these remarkable children.

As of now, I have had 17 people/families make donations on my fundraising site. My original plan was to run the last mile of the race, number 13, collectively in their honor. I decided to switch it up a little, and each mile of the race will be in honor of a specific donor. Here’s the rundown. Please know that I will be thinking of you during that mile, and I appreciate all of your support. Some people wished to remain anonymous on the fundraising site, so only your first name is listed below. (This list has been revised to reflect additional donations…thank you!)

Mile 1: Susan & Gary
Mile 2: Joanne and Suzanne & Nick
Mile 3: Halle
Mile 4: Hannah and Joyce
Mile 5: Amanda
Mile 6: Sara
Mile 7: Susan & Steve and Sarah & Rhett
Mile 8: Natalie
Mile 9: Raymond
Mile 10: Dr. Lynne and Dr. Ray
Mile 11: Lynne
Mile 13: Emily and Alison

Why did I skip Mile 12? Mile 12 is officially designated as the Angel Mile and is run in honor of all of the children who have gained their wings. This mile, in my opinion, is the most emotional on the course. Families gather to honor their children and cheer on the runners. If that’s not motivation, I don’t know what is.

Again, thank you, family and friends. I will be thinking of you!

If you didn’t get a chance to donate yet and would like to help the hospital, visit my fundraising site. Any amount will help make a difference. http://nationwidechildrens.kintera.org/stephcharles55

Leave a Reply

