32 things you may or may not know about me

Standard

Every now and then it’s fun to throw in a super random post. This is one of those – one random thing for each of my 32 fabulous years.

  1. Believe it or not, I hated the color pink until I was in college, but, in addition to green, it is my favorite color now.
  2. I can do this funky thing with my right shoulder where it looks like it’s popped out of the socket.
  3. I hate snow and winter but live in Ohio because my family is here.
  4. I, sadly, had matching mullets with my sister Sarah when we were little (pretty sure this was child abuse).
  5. I also had a super short haircut with a tail…until someone cut it off in 6th grade.
  6. I didn’t start running until spring 2009 when I was 27 years old and, until then, swore I would never run unless chased.
  7. I literally freak out if mayonnaise touches my skin, let alone touches food that I am going to eat, and let’s not even go there if it got in my mouth.
  8. I am not afraid of snakes, spiders, or other creepy crawlies but can’t stand grasshoppers.
  9. I cheered and/or coached every year from the time I was 8 until 25.
  10. I still remember the two words I spelled incorrectly in my 4th and 5th grade spelling bees (FYI: they were miserable and repealed).
  11. I can still do a back handspring and toe touch, and they don’t look half bad (still got it!).
  12. Immediately after I graduated college I worked in a laboratory that conducted testing on animals for potential new pharmaceuticals (sorry to all animal lovers, but I could oral gavage a mouse like no other!).
  13. I could eat Chipotle every. single. day.
  14. I never wanted to be a mom when I was younger, but I couldn’t imagine life without my children now (although I’ll admit that I still don’t feel like I know what I’m doing).
  15. I won’t eat anything that is white and creamy (ranch dressing, mayo, sour cream, cream cheese, etc.) except Cool Whip, ice cream, and yogurt.
  16. I am still bitter that I graduated college with a 3.59 GPA and missed High Distinction by .01 (I know, it doesn’t really matter in the scheme of life, but it matters to me).
  17. I didn’t have my first kiss until I was going into 9th grade.
  18. I now have 5 tattoos but only my family one is visible to everyone.
  19. I was in a sorority in college (shout out to my ZTA girls!)
  20. I have never broken a bone (knocked on wood after I typed that).
  21. I am a lover of hand sanitizer and have about 4 in my purse at any given time (my family thinks I’m a germaphobe).
  22. I absolutely love grammar and appreciate those who use it well.
  23. When something wonderful or horrible happens to me, I still call my mom.
  24. I swore off tanning beds as my new life resolution on New Year’s Eve 2010 (I have enough wrinkles as it is, and do I even need to mention skin cancer?!)
  25. I could probably win an award for taking forever to brush my teeth and am slightly obsessive about them.
  26. I think about my grandma every day and hope that she would be proud of me.
  27. I have met some amazing and inspiring people through running.
  28. I like to think that I’m pretty tough because although I had inductions with all of my deliveries, I went without pain meds or an epidural, even the twins (say it with me now…badass).
  29. I would rather eat store-bought cookies over homemade any day, and my absolute favorite cookies are and always will be Oreos.
  30. I am an Advanced Open Water SCUBA diver but haven’t dove in over 10 years.
  31. I am reluctant to try new things because I’m terrified of failure.
  32. I know that some of the best days of my life haven’t happened yet (yes, I’m trying out optimism for a change).

What’s a random thing about you?

3 responses »

  1. I too hated pink until I was in college. Now I love it!
    I lost my back handspring after 25. I tumbled and stunted til 25 but I was getting old and it hurt my body to do those things.

Leave a Reply

