six things sunday

Standard

I know this is not a real thing, but my Five Things Friday didn’t happen; therefore, I’m modifying. Hello, Six Things Sunday!

1. The kids’ baseball/softball rules my freaking life, at least for the next few weeks! We actually received a break this week with it being the last week of school, but when I look at my calendar for the rest of the month, it’s just exhausting. I know part of being a parent is going to your kids’ activities, but I would much rather spend what little time I do have with the kids doing fun, family things like swimming or going to the zoo or visiting our fam. I dread the thought of sitting at the baseball park all day pretending that I enjoy conversations about how someone’s 5-year-old is like a major leaguer. Get over it, parents; your kid’s not God’s gift to sports. Okay, enough ranting; on to number 2.

f9795c0d-b70c-4b5b-93f6-c332735b59b3_jpeg

at the baseball park this past weekend…for 6.5 hours. at least my kids are cute.

2. I’m kinda in love with my new tattoo. If you haven’t heard already, Dan and I commemorated our marathon with 26.2 tattoos last Friday. I’ve been kicking around the idea of getting one for a long time, and when he mentioned it was something he wanted to do after finishing the race, I was completely on board. Being a runner, it was only fitting to get it on our foot – mine on the inside, his on the outside. The tattoo artist asked if we would consider another spot because, frankly, a foot tattoo is incredibly painful. I kinda took this as a challenge, and there was no way I was budging on the location. Foot or bust (not that bust)! I figure if I can go through natural childbirth four times, I can surely get a little foot tattoo. While it was the most painful one I’ve received, I like to think I took it like a champ (the girls in the studio were impressed, so A+ for me!), and I love the end result. I’m proud of this one because I had to earn it.

6tag-550562248-733600834555946050_550562248

3. The kiddles are on summer break! And, let me tell you, they are beyond excited. They basically checked out of school at the middle of May when baseball started, so I’m glad that it’s done. They all did very well this year, and I’m proud to say that I now have a fourth grader, second grader, and two fabulous all-day kindergarteners! The added bonus is they will all be in the same school district next year. Thank you to all of their teachers and to Betty, our wonderful friend, who got my boys on the bus to school every morning.

4. Baconfest was epic! What’s Baconfest? A celebration of bacon, of course! My friends, Kelly and Christian, graciously host this event at their house and have been doing so for the past five years. I don’t know a person who loves bacon more than Christian, so it’s kinda like Christmas for him. Everyone brings some kind of dish made with bacon to share, and we vote on the best dishes in the different categories. Trophies are handed out to the winners. Yes, trophies, with a golden pig on top. And I’m proud to say we brought home the bacon (sorry, couldn’t resist) for the kids’ bacon mac and cheese! The funny part was that was a last-minute dish. With having so many of us show up, I didn’t feel right bringing just one thing. The main dish we brought was maple bacon french toast cakeballs, and I, personally, thought they were pretty freakin’ amazing!

6tag-550562248-738357195407828489_550562248

the kiddles are very, very proud of this!

the bacon man of the hour

6tag-231409614-737909756488327129_231409614

jess, steph, and emily – bloggers, runners, and lovers of bacon #triplewhammy

5. I’m very fortunate to start my summer work schedule tomorrow. Work allows me to combine in-office and virtual hours, which allows me to spend a little extra time with the kiddles now that they are on summer break. I know not all moms (and dads) are this fortunate, and I’m looking forward to a great summer.

5. This is my brother and sister-in-law’s last weekend as a Buckeye, as they prepare for their move to Bellevue, Washington on Monday. Getting back to Washington was always in the cards for them because that is where her family lives. I’m proud to say that my brother will be taking a principal position in Bellevue, and I’m sure he is going to rock. The downside – it won’t just be a quick jaunt to Columbus to see them. I better start saving my pennies for a trip to Washington. Steve and Tracy – we love you and miss you, and we wish you the best of luck with the new chapter of your lives. O-H…

V__AC1D

showing uncle stevie a little love

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

