i have a confession – i’m a slacker

Standard

Whew! Feels good to get that off my chest. Okay, not really. It’s totally true, though. I have been a slacker on all aspects of life lately. Running – slacker. Laundry – slacker. Dishes – slacker. Housework – slacker. Healthy eating – slacker. Blogging – slacker. If you want me to continue the list, I’m plenty capable of rattling off more and more items, but I think you get the idea. I have even been slacking on looking nice for work. Case in point – I had a meeting today with a community partner I never met, so I put a little extra effort in this morning (ie. no crimpy, curly side braid), and I got a comment from someone that I actually did my hair today. Ouch.

I was thinking about this a lot on my (absolutely miserable) run, and I was really mad at myself. I’m mad that I gained back all of the weight that I worked so hard to lose last year. I’m mad that I let my fast running times creep up higher and higher to the point that I am about a minute slower per mile than I was only a few months ago. And I haven’t even gotten a long run in since May for goodness sake! The thought of even running 7-8 miles is daunting at this point when I’m dying to keep a decent pace after 3-4. Also, my house is constantly dirty, and I do nothing about it because it’s easier to walk away than clean it. S-L-A-C-K-E-R!

Some people may say I should give myself a break because I’m a working mom with four kids to take care of and I have to work from home at night and it’s summer and blah, blah, blah. To that I say, “Bullshit!” I know that other people may take the pity excuse, but honestly, I have no one to blame but myself. No one is making me not run or eat crap or look at the pile of laundry and close the door because I don’t want to see it. It’s just plain laziness, and someone saying otherwise is a liar. You know that saying, “Someone busier than you is running right now.”? It applies to life in general. Someone busier than me is accomplishing more right now.

So what’s my plan to pull me out of slacker-dom? It’s time to get back on a schedule with running and eating. I know, I know; schedules are no fun and restrictive, but for me, they are a necessity. For running, this means getting together a general plan to prepare me for fall races. I’m not going to plan out every run, but getting an idea for how many miles I want for long runs and a general number for the week is at least a start. For healthy eating, it means getting back on MyFitnessPal and tracking calories, the thought of which sounds awful at the moment. As far as housework goes, I need to get on a better routine with cleaning stuff, so I don’t let it all pile up at once. Cleaning one bathroom takes about 15-20 minutes out of my day, but cleaning all three at once is a different story. The chore I detest the most is folding clothes, which is clearly evident by the multiple laundry basket filled with clean clothes. I think it’s time I enlist the help of the kiddles on this one. The amount of clothes we have here is the summer is staggering. With work clothes for me, running/workout clothes for me, and the multiple outfit changes from the kids, there is a pile covering the entire floor of the laundry room in no time. There’s no reason why the girls couldn’t help fold the general stuff, and the boys fold easy things like socks. Will the folding be perfect? Heck no, but it will be done, and they will be learning how to help around the house. Win-win!

I suppose I’ll keep you posted on my progress, and if you could help hold me accountable, that would be great, too 🙂

5 responses »

  1. This is a great blog, Steph! We’ve all been there, for sure! I feel like I just clean the house, turn around, and it is a mess again! And I only have one kid! Good luck with making the difficult changes! You are such an inspiration! Love you! ~Krisi

  2. You can turn it around! I can relate because I can push hard and be a high achiever, but tend to overdo and then crash and burn, feel relieved first which quickly turns to guilt and “Ishoulds.” If it helps, reframe this period as a rest time, part of balance and health is rest and that’s what you’ve been doing. Second, flylady.com has been an excellent resource for routines and housework help…seriously, if you’re spend 20 minutes a day on one bathroom, no wonder you burnt out! Flylady can help. We’re all pulling for you out here!

  3. I started following a cleaning routine this summer to keep me on track – check Pinterest for lots of easy downloads or pdf files. I printed mine and hung it on the fridge. During the school year I often have to do all cleaning on a Saturday morning – I’m really enjoying doing a little each day instead. You’ll be back on track in no time! It’s tough getting the kiddos to all their events, training and trying to enjoy the summer at the same time.

Leave a Reply

