how is this freakin’ possible?! aka – happy 6th birthday, cole and cael

Standard

best buds

Truth: I’ve been getting all weepy over the thought of my babies turning six for a few weeks now. That’s right; my sweet baby boys are six. It’s amazing to me how quickly six years flew by. One minute they were these two little tinies, barely over six pounds, and now they are my big boys with mohawks. I had to excuse myself to the bathroom at work today when I found a folder of their babies pics because I needed a mirror to check my mascara.

I don’t want anyone to think that it wasn’t special when Lex or Annie turned six; after all, six is a big deal. But there is just something a little different about my boys. Maybe it’s the fact there are two of them. Maybe it’s that they admit that they love me more (Cole swears up and down that he loves me more than anything in the whole wide world). Maybe it’s the fact they are so darn cute and ornery at the same time. I honestly can’t resist their dimpled smiles, freckled noses, greenish blue eyes, and blondie hair. I know I’m being biased because I’m their mother, but they are seriously the cutest little boys that have ever lived.

When I first found out I was having twins, I was glad that my mom was there for moral support because I couldn’t even drive home. I had a meltdown on the ultrasound table. Since I couldn’t drown my sorrows in an adult beverage, I ate them at Cracker Barrel. Obviously, I’ve come a long way since then, and I couldn’t imagine my life without my boys. They are smart, energetic, and loving with just enough difficulty mixed in to keep it interesting.

Happy 6th Birthday, Cole and Cael! I love you more.

One response »

Leave a Reply

