why i don’t always feel like a “real” runner

Standard

To actually consider myself not to be a real runner is absolutely absurd, but there are times when that thought creeps into my head. It’s usually when I’m shaming myself after reading about all of the awesome people I consider real runners on social media (FYI studies prove that social media can be bad for your self-esteem). Anyway, here are some reason why I don’t always feel like a “real” runner.

1. I like the treadmill and look forward to my runs on it. Sorry, readers, but you won’t catch this girl slogging through the snow and rain or even burning sun for that matter. When the weather gets (semi) cruddy, I take it indoors. Plus the added element of daycare at the gym makes this a win-win for me.

2. I HATE the foam roller. Say what you like about the benefits of it, but I still hate it. In my defense, I like The Stick, which to me is a better and easier option. I already had my workout when I ran; I don’t want to get an extra one in when I try to foam roll.

3. I don’t eat clean. I’m not a horrible eater by any means, but I definitely indulge in my fair share of treats. Sweets are my weakness, and if it means a few more miles, so be it. Life’s short; drink the beer and eat the cupcake.

4. I wear shorts over my running tights, and those running capris won’t be found in my wardrobe. Something about showing that much in the front and back while wearing those tights makes me uneasy, so to make me feel more comfortable and not resemble the walking part of a camel, I wear shorts, too. Stylish…no, but that’s not what I’m going for anyway. And don’t get me started on running capris. I know a lot of people think they’re cute, and they really do look good on others. Me, on the other hand, not so much.

5. You won’t catch me waking up before the sun to get my run in. I’m not a morning person, and the thought of waking up even earlier to get my run in before work or whatever else I have to do sounds horrible. I prefer to fit my runs in during mid- to late morning or evening. It just works better for me. All of the real runners can be up before the sun rises. I need my beauty sleep.

Are there things that make you feel like you’re not a real runner? 

4 responses »

  1. 1. I run on the TM ALL the time. You’re still getting the miles in, who cares how you’re doing it?!
    4. I do too. No shame.
    5. Me either. Although tomorrow I Have to get up at 4 to get my run in before everything! But I think that’ll be my only time this entire marathon training cycle getting up before 8!

  2. I gotta say that I sorta feel the same way with regards to early morning running. I have never, ever woken up early to run before work or on the weekends to run. The earliest that I’ve ever done a training run on a weekend is 9:30AM, and that’s when I was up early anyway because Sheila had ceramics class at 9AM. Of course, I have to get up early to race, but given the choice, I’d start a race at 10AM. One of the many reasons I love Towpath Marathon is the 8AM start – sure beats a 7AM start. I saw a marathon in MD that even starts at 9AM and that fact alone made me really want to do it.

    Also, I love the treadmill as long as there are sports on. I can’t wait to hit up the gym this fall and winter and pound out some miles in front of some NFL or NBA action. Treadmill runs with nothing good on TV at the gym are tough though. I don’t mind running in the rain or in the brutal sun because it’s good to prepare for varying conditions on the course, but I’m a treadmill junkie in the winter. One fall on the snow in the winter was enough. I don’t care how boring a TM run feels, it’s never as boring as watching from the sidelines on race day because I’m hurt.

  3. I am with you on most of these! I won’t be running in snow or blistering hot sun either 🙂 I also don’t eat 100% clean… and totally agree that life’s too short for that. And I am also not a morning person hahah. I also don’t consider myself a “real runner” because well, I don’t actually run… I’m still in the walk/jog phase (with more walking than jogging), but i’m working on it!

Leave a Reply

