things i can learn from my seven-year-old

Standard

6tag-550562248-737709974899336723_550562248

As we grow up, we learn from others and take a little piece of them with us. Sometimes we learn how to eloquently handle certain situations. Sometimes we learn what not to do by using them as an example. Usually, these are our peers or those older than us. In my case, there are quite a few things I can learn from my seven-year-old daughter, Adrianna, who also happens to be my middle child. Technically, she’s my second out of four, but with one older sister and a set of younger twins, she qualifies.

Lesson 1: Don’t give a crap what people think of you.
Annie is her own little person, and she doesn’t care what people think of her. I don’t always appreciate that she doesn’t care that I think she is being a little bit of a brat, but she has her personality and is unapologetic about it. Love her or hate her, the girl knows who she is. If only we adults could be lucky enough to say that.

Lesson 2: Be honest.
Tip-toeing around things just isn’t Adrianna’s style. The kid is blunt and will tell it like it is. If my hair looks bad, she tells me. If the outfit she is wearing isn’t fabulous, she speaks up. If she doesn’t want to do the same thing that her brothers and sister want to do, she says so. If dinner is, in her opinion, “disgusting”, you better believe she says something. While I hope she learns a little tact later in life, she can’t be faulted for being truthful. I like to compare her to my grandma and can’t help but think she is chuckling looking down on Annie.

Lesson 3: Be independent.
Sure, she needs me to take care of her just as any other child needs her mom, but I admire Annie’s independence. She enjoys doing things on her own, such as teaching herself to ride a bike, and has always been this way. I know this is a characteristic that will stick with her, and I feel a sense of pride knowing that my daughter will be able to take care of herself just fine.

Lesson 4: Don’t be a people-pleaser.
The three previous traits of Adrianna’s contribute to the fact she is not a people-pleaser. She does what she wants and what makes her happy. She also has no problem telling others, “NO!” (which happens to be her favorite word). Do I hate this when I am trying to discipline and guide her? Hell yes! Am I happy that my daughter isn’t going to be someone’s doormat? ABSO-FREAKIN-LUTELY!

Sassy, opinionated, and fierce are some fabulous adjectives to describe my Annie, and I wouldn’t have her any other way (except when I want her to listen to me). Thanks, little Adrianna Banana, for teaching your old mom a thing or two.

IMAG0005

little miss sassy pants

2 responses »

  1. Just love that little sassy one! And yes, I’m sure grandma Judy is laughing her freakin’ ass off. Are you sure her middle name isn’t Judith instead of Michelle? She’s strong, independent and unapologizing for being one awesome girl! Love you Annie Banannie!

  2. I think this may be my favorite of all your blogs posts Steph! It’s the reminder I think we all need occassionally! Go Annie!!

Leave a Reply

