columbus marathon recap

Standard

IMAG0070

I’m a little late writing this recap, and I didn’t want to procrastinate any longer. On Sunday, October 19, Dan and I ran the Nationwide Children’s Hospital Columbus Marathon. The race didn’t go as planned, but I still think we had a good time.

IMAG0051

nothing like a little road-tripping selfie

We left on Saturday morning to make it to the Expo by noon. There was an important item of business that needed taken care of that day. I was meeting with Jack Staph, Executive Race Director of the Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon and owner of the Cleveland Marathon, at 1:00. You read that correctly; Jack is so awesome he owns the marathon and is president of Cleveland Marathon, Inc. Pretty cool, right? Anyway, we were meeting to discuss the 2015 race and my involvement with it (spoiler alert…I will help promote the 2015 Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon!) Dan, Jack, and I had a great lunch, and I am VERY excited for next year’s race. Thanks again, Jack, for a great afternoon!

IMAG0055_1

The other exciting part of the Expo was the Children’s Champion booth. With the help of friends and family, I was able to raise $700 for Nationwide Children’s Hospital, and combined with last year’s donations, I have raised over $1,500! Because of this, I received a special shirt to wear on race day, two tickets to a catered lunch after the race, and two tickets to a special pre-race breakfast with many of the patient champions and their families.

IMAG0052

all smiles with my children’s champions shirt

IMAG0053

After the Expo, we checked into our hotel and did a little shopping. Knowing it would be chilly that morning, we needed some throw-away clothes. Unfortunately, we weren’t able to score any at the Goodwill booth at the Expo (genius idea, by the way), so we went in search of inexpensive places. Hence, Shopper’s World! My brother and sister-in-law introduced me to this gem a few years back. The store and location are sketchy to say the least, but the deals are awesome. And I couldn’t wait to see Dan’s reaction, which was priceless. Shopper’s World was a success in all aspects. The best part – setting off the alarm when we walked out, the sales lady not evening giving a crap, and finding a security tag on a $5.99 sweatshirt the next morning. Gotta love it.

IMAG0057_1

The alarm went off on race day, and I just wasn’t feeling it. I knew this was going to be a challenge because we weren’t as well-trained as we had been for Cleveland in May. About an hour later we were out the door and on our way to downtown. Thankfully, we left early enough, and parking and traffic weren’t an issue at all. The walk to the start was memorable because we had one of the elite runners ask us where the start line was located! I mean, what are the changes that you’ll even bump into an elite let alone give directions?!

The start was buzzing with activity as we made our way to the Children’s Champions tent. We flashed our VIP tags and stepped inside. I started to get excited because a lot of the patient champions were there with their families and friends who were running in their honor. It’s so motivating to see those children, and I have to admit when they read through all of the names and gave a little bio, I got teary.

IMAG0066

rockin’ my breast cancer awareness Sparkly Soul in honor of my friend Sarah who kicked cancer’s butt

IMAG0068

After breakfast, we found corral C and tried to mentally prepare for the race. The fireworks, music, and lights gave me something to focus on other than race worries. And then, we were off! Our plan was to just take this one slow, not worry about pace, and enjoy the surroundings. We clipped along the first few miles, high-fiving the patient champions and their supporters at each mile. Then, at around mile 7, it got really hard for me. I haven’t had knee pain since the 2013 Cleveland Marathon, but it came back in full force in Columbus. We had to stop and walk, which killed our momentum. I knew we weren’t going to make it through 19 more miles of this. A marathon just wasn’t in the cards that day, so we ripped off our time chips and made the decision to finish the half instead. Race over, and I was happy.

Did I feel bad about this decision? Well, honestly, a little. My goal was a full, and I didn’t accomplish that. However, I accomplished a lot more in the way of fundraising, and that meant more to me than the race itself. I would like to thank those who donated to Nationwide Children’s Hospital, so I’m sending a huge “THANK YOU” to

  • Steve and Susan
  • Steve and Tracy
  • Sarah and Rhett
  • Lynne and Ben
  • Vanessa
  • Patrick
  • Halle
  • Emily
  • Rachel
  • Cherise
  • Dan
  • Candy
  • Mary
  • Alison
  • Everyone who purchased Scentsy from Sarah during my fundraiser
5 responses »

  1. Neither one of us were ready and neither of us trained but we promised ourselves we would show up and give it our all, I am very proud of you.

  2. Proud of you lady! You still rocked a great fundraising campaign and made the best of it. Great recap and huge kudos to you for sharing. Cleveland will be yours and you will CRUSH it, I just know it =)

  3. Congrats on your fundraising! That is really awesome and it must be so exciting to help promote the Cleveland marathon! Sorry that you had knee issues. Hopefully you can figure out what the issue is so that you can run pain free again!

Leave a Reply

