life happens

Standard

toy story

Okay, readers, I have a confession. Until this weekend, it had been two weeks since I ran, and three weeks since I completed a long run. Whew, I feel better about admitting that, but it also makes me feel a bit guilty. Why the running hiatus? Life happens. Plain and simple. Between an illness that stopped me from running (and basically being able to function) altogether to a much-needed and well-deserved vacation in Washington to getting back in the swing of work and home life, running took a back seat for a while.

Ideally, that’s not what I wanted to have happen in the middle of marathon training. Up until this point, I was on schedule to be around 15-16 miles for my long runs. While I am not too far behind, I don’t have the wiggle room that I did before in case I bomb a long run, which happens at least once, or get hit with something unexpected. With the Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon about 10 weeks away, I need to regain focus, stay healthy, and continue to train with a PR mindset. I still haven’t given up hope that a great race is in store for me, and I know that I am not the only one who has had a setback or two during the course of training. This is where we pick up the pieces, take a deep breath, and start again with more fervor than before.

Although my marathon training isn’t going as planned, I’m happy to say that the kids started their training for the Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon 5K, which is held the day before the big race on Saturday, May 16. This will be the first time that all four kids have run a 5K with me, and I couldn’t be more excited! Yes, even my Adrianna who has said that she doesn’t like running is going to participate. Yesterday, we attend the Lorain County Fitness Walk at Splash Zone in Oberlin. The field house track is open to the public free of charge every Monday at 5:30 PM as part of a collaboration with the Lorain County General Health District (my employer), Lorain County Metro Parks, Mercy Hospital, and WOBL/WDLW. This is a great opportunity because it gives us a place to train when the weather is lousy, allows the kids to burn off some energy, and supports the local community. All four kids put in at least 1.5 miles yesterday, so I am anxious to see how well they will do come race day. Good luck, kiddles!

PhotoGrid_1425343519043

One response »

  1. Yes, life happens! I don’t think missing a week of training is going to affect your ability to run a strong race. Plus, it’s over two months away and you have time!

Leave a Reply

