30 (running) things about me

Standard

We all have a story about running – what drives us, what we like, what we loathe, what we hope to accomplish. I always find it interesting when people let me in on what makes them tick running-wise, and I’d like to share a little with you. Here’s a quick list of 30 running things about me. Can you relate to any of these?

  1. I started running in February 2009, and my first race was the St. Malachi 2-Miler. I wore sweatpants, too many layers on top, a pair of old shoes I had from working in a lab, and almost died. Obviously, I’ve improved.
  2. My favorite pre-race meal is Chipotle – a bowl with both white and brown rice, chicken, black bean, mild salsa, corn salsa, and cheese. Perfection.
  3. I love running on the treadmill and have trained up to 22 miles on one.
  4. My favorite distance to race is the half marathon. My least favorite is the 5K.
  5. I’m a “wimpy runner” and prefer to stay inside when it’s below 40 degrees.
  6. I’ve made some great friends through running, and I’m thankful for their motivation and support (CLE marathon ambassadors, this is pointed at you.)
  7. I still haven’t mastered the art of picking out the proper clothing for 50-60 degree weather.
  8. I own enough Sparkly Soul headbands to finance college for my children. Okay, so that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but I have enough to warrant their own dresser drawer.
  9. My first marathon was in Honolulu. I’ve run a total of 5 now, with 3 of them being Cleveland, my favorite race.
  10. I didn’t worry about speed until about 2 years ago, and  my only regret is that I didn’t push myself sooner.
  11. I almost always wear makeup when I run. #prissyrunner
  12. All four kiddles have completed at least one 5K with me.
  13. Running is my favorite form of stress relief. There are very few things a good run can’t fix.
  14. I hate running capris. There, I said it!
  15. I will qualify for Boston…someday.
  16. People who run on the incorrect side of the road annoy the crap out of me, as do runners who won’t acknowledge you when you pass them.
  17. My proudest race moments are when I ran my first marathon without walking in Columbus in October 2012, when I ran my first sub-2:00 half in October 2013 at the Northern Ohio Marathon and my family was there with signs at the finish, and when Dan and I ran the Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon together in May 2014 and set a new PR.
  18. If someone hops on the treadmill next to me, that automatically means they want to race, and I feel a sense of accomplishment when they quit.
  19. I absolutely hate energy gels but have found them to be a necessary evil for training.
  20. I’m honored to have been a Cleveland Marathon ambassador for the past 4 years.
  21. I plan to accomplish one of my running goals this fall by racing back-to-back half marathons. Just need to find the races. Suggestions, anyone? Would like to keep this close to home for logistical purposes.
  22. I met Dan at a race. He was this long-haired, hippy-looking guy sipping on a chai latte wearing high socks and shorts when it was freezing cold. The rest is history.
  23. All of my race medals sit in a box, and I don’t keep my race bibs.
  24. I love watching “creepy” and science documentaries on Netflix when I run on the treadmill at home.
  25. I’m not a morning runner and don’t have any real intentions on becoming one. I much prefer to run in the afternoon or evening.
  26. Out of the five marathons I’ve completed, I was only able to fully run two. For the other three, I felt like I spent more time in the bathroom, and the experiences were awful. Imodium changed my life.
  27. Chocolate milk and bananas are my favorite post-race snack. Then beer.
  28. I prefer to train alone as opposed to with a group, but I love the energy at group runs and races.
  29. I can’t stand to stop a run when the distance isn’t a nice, neat number. No 4.63 mile runs for this girl. It just drives me nuts.
  30. I don’t know where I would be today without running.
4 responses »

  1. I LOVE ALL of this!!! 1) So happy to have also met you #solesister 2) ok spill it how many of those headbands do you have??? 3) I hate gels too!! Which ones did you decide on, as they are a necessary evil? 4) 22 miles on a treadmill, holy S#it!!!! 5) Running capris BAHAHAHHAHA =)

    • 🙂 So happy to have met you too, Jamie! Okay, I have 25 headbands, but that is after giving away some to friends and family and not counting the ones I bought for my daughters. It’s an addiction, I tell you!!!! As for gels, the only ones I really like are the Honey Stinger Classic Gold ones. They taste like regular honey to me, which I like.

  2. #21. I’ve done some back-to-back half marathons. The Kansas City and Des Moines marathons are on October 15 and 16 this year. The races have actually gotten together and formalized the effort as the ‘I-35 Challenge’

Leave a Reply

