soundtrack to my runs

Standard

At this point in my training, miles are starting to pile up, and runs are getting longer. That means I need music more than ever to help me get through. It’s not that running is impossible for me without music, but it makes it so much more enjoyable. Certain songs take me back to training and race experiences, and I use them as motivation to keep going. It’s amazing how the right song can lift you up when you need it most.

I’m always curious about what other people are listening to when they run. Pop songs and 80s rock seem to dominate many people’s playlists, but they don’t really do it for me. I’m not a fan of popular standbys (Livin’ On A Prayer, Eye of the Tiger, Don’t Stop Believin’, and Born to Run) and typical “girl power” motivational songs (Roar, Firework, Girl On Fire, Raise Your Glass). If I offended you because you love to run to those songs, I’m sorry. They’re just not my cup of tea.

Here are a few of my personal faves from my playlist. I will admit that at least 60% of my playlist songs have been on there for a few years. I don’t change things up very often, obviously, but there are a few newish ones along with my oldies but goodies.

AWOLNATION – Woman Woman

Young the Giant – My Body

Snoop Dogg – Doggy Dogg World

Crazy Town – Megatron

Florence + The Machine – Shake it Out

Missy Elliot – WTF

Royal Blood – Ten Tonne Skeleton

Muse – Uprising

Twenty One Pilot – Ride and Holding On To You

My Chemical Romance – Welcome to the Black Parade

2Pac – California Love

The Struts – Could Have Been Me

Theory of a Deadman – Bad Girlfriend

What are your favorite running songs?

running-music

3 responses »

  1. Love this! I totally agree with you about the cliche running songs that seem to appear in every article about running songs! My favorites on your list are Muse (although I prefer the song “Hysteria) and Theory of a Deadman. For me it’s the hard rock with the driving beat that does it: Fall Out Boy, Panic At The Disco, Anberlin, Jimmy Eat World, etc.

Leave a Reply

