a letter to my children on inauguration day

Standard

For the most part, I keep this blog fun and lighthearted, and I usually do not post things that would bring criticism or cause backlash, as I hate confrontation. However, this is not one of those posts. Read it if you like. Disagree with my views if you want. Call me a sore loser or too sensitive or whatever you want. Right now, I couldn’t care less. Also, if you’re looking to post comments and argue with me on this, please don’t expect a response. You won’t change my mind just as I won’t change yours. 

Dear Lexi, Annie, Cole, and Cael,

As your mom, I try very hard to teach you life lessons and instill in you good values and behaviors that I hope you will carry into adulthood. I also know that the person you become can be shaped by forces outside our home, and some of that is truly terrifying to me. In particular, the person slated to take over as Commander-in-Chief of this great nation disgusts me to the core, and the example he’s setting for our youth is sickening. There’s so much I could say, but let’s take this as an opportunity to go over few lessons.

  1. Treat people with kindness and respect regardless of race, ethnicity, gender, religion, sexuality, etc. Just because someone is different than you doesn’t mean they should be treated differently or mocked for those differences. Besides, diversity is what makes America great, contrary to what the guy in the red hat says.
  2. Be humble. No one wants to hear about how great you are. EVER.
  3. Lexi and Annie – your worth isn’t measured by how pretty you are, and never let anyone tell you otherwise. You know what matters more? Intelligence, kindness, empathy, drive, hard work, confidence, dignity…the list goes on. Use those traits to shatter that glass ceiling. Looks fade. Being a bad ass woman doesn’t.
  4. Be honest and tell the truth, even when it’s hard. Never lie to get ahead. Also, admit when you’re wrong.
  5. Sometimes bullies come out on top. This is a fact of life as unfortunate as it may seem.
  6. Cole and Cael – never, ever let me hear you belittle and disgrace women and then dismiss it as “locker room talk.” We may have a president who thinks this is okay, but it doesn’t fly in this house. We’ve had these talks before, and I know you are aware of what’s right and wrong.
  7. You are allowed to have different views than your family and friends. The way you choose to voice those views and respect the opinions of others says a lot about you as a person.
  8. Think before you speak…or tweet.
  9. Never think you’re the smartest person in the room. There is a lot to be learned if you only listen.
  10. And this last one is for my girls – if a man ever tries to “grab you by the pussy,’ break his fucking arm while you flash him that amazing smile.

Love,
Mom

3 responses »

  1. So much of what you have said was instilled in you at a young age, and nothing makes me prouder than to have the same values passed down to our next generation.

Leave a Reply

